Latest Society Updates:

E.E.L.S now has a FREE SMS Group providing daily Vocabulary tips and a new word on your Mobile phone. TO Join this group, SMS "JOIN ETERNALELS" and send it to 567678.

Latest University Updates:

Great News Friends, Now get Free SMS updates related to Eternal University on your mobile. To join, Just SMS "ON ETERNALNEWS" and send it to 9870807070 OR simply Sign Up at: ETERNALNEWS

EELS Slideshow

Monday, July 12, 2010

Eternal English Literary Society organises Intra University Poetry Recitation Competition

The Eternal English Literary Society organised its long awaited Intra University Poetry Recitation Competition on sunday, 11th April 2010. The programme started at 2:15 PM with the arrival of the chief guest. Honourable Dr. M. S. Atwal, Vice- Chancellor, Eternal University, Baru Sahib, was the Chief Guest for the event and presided over the function. Special guests, who graced the occasion by their kind presence, included:

Dr. K. S. Sidhu, Chairman, Academic Programs, Eternal University
Dr. Devinder Singh, Honourable principal, A.A.B.S

Mrs. Uppal, Dean of Studies, A.C.N

Mrs. Purvi Luniyal, Dean of Studies, A.S.D.M.S

Mr. Gill, Dean of Student Welfare, Eternal University

Mr. P.P.S. Anand, Associate Dean (Student Welfare), Eternal University

Faculty members of various colleges affiliated to Eternal University

Dr. M.P. Sidhu, Director of the University's Communication Skills Cell and Founder of the Society welcomed the guests and outlined the objectives of the society.

The panel of esteemed judges composed of:
1. Prof. Dr. I. S. Hudiara , Dean of studies, A.C.E.T, Eternal University
2. Mrs. Kamal Anand, Associate Dean (Student Welfare), Eternal University

Paying tribute to some of the very few renowned poets, the students of ACET recited poems written by famous poets. Starting with

Mr. Pranjal Khanduri, who recited a Hindi poem by Mr. Harivansh Rai Bachhan

Ms. Naina Singh, who recited a Punjabi poem by Mr. Pritam Singh

Ms. Meenal Sharma, who recited an English poem by Mr. H. W. Longfellow

After the inaugral poem by Dr. M. P. Sidhu, the competition started with 21 participants on roll. All the participants gave a mind blowing and marvellous performance by reciting heart touching poems on different topics. The Judges had a tough time deciding the winners. Thereafter, three students gave a live singing performance and enlivened the atmosphere. The Budding Singers of Eternal University, Mr. Naveen Thakur & Mr. Harjeet Karan Singh of 2nd Year, ACET, and Ms. Jyotsna of 2nd Year, ACN, gave a magnificient singing performance and were applauded by everyone. At last the results were announced by Dr. I. S. Hudiara and he congratulated the participants for their excellent performance. The results were as follows:
Ms. Shweta Sharma, 2nd Year, ACET bagged the first position.
Ms. Jasleen Kaur, 1st Year, ACET stood second.
Mr. Vishal Sharma, 2nd Year, Mr. Dheeraj Chauhan, 3rd Year & Ms. Ramanpreet Kaur, 1st Year were declared third.

Mr. Tarvinder and Ms. Suchpreet Kaur got consolation prizes.

Dr. M. S. Atwal gave away the certificates to the winners and Dr. Devinder Singh distributed the certificates to the participants.

All in all the competition was a grand success.

The organising committee composed of:
Dr. M. P. Sidhu
Mrs. Shelly Thakur
Mr. Vishal Sharma, 2nd Year
Mr. Gagandeep Singh, 2nd year
Mr. Pranjal Khanduri, 2nd Year
Ms. Rene Sharma, 2nd Year
Ms. Uppma Soharu, 2nd Year
Ms. Meenal Sharma, 2nd year
Ms. Naina Singh, 2nd year

Feedback at:

No comments:

Post a Comment